Print Page   |   Register
Community Search
Arthur H. Miller Lawyer Achievement Award
Share |

The Late Arthur H. Miller


The MCBA's Arthur H. Miller Lawyer Achievement Award is given out annually to the bar member whose actions best exemplify what the practice of law is all about and serve as a model for others to emulate.


Arthur passed away on May 26, 2012 after a long illness at the age of 76. During his more than 50 years of practice and more than 40 years as a practitioner in New Jersey, Art served in numerous capacities on behalf of the Bar. He was President of the Bar Association from 1993 to 1994 and President of the Bar Foundation from 1997 to 1998. Outside of his involvement with the Middlesex County and New Jersey Bar Associations, Art served as the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Middlesex County Legal Services Corporation for many years and served as a member of that Board until his death. He served for many years as a pro bono cooperating attorney with the New Jersey Chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union. He was a visiting lecturer in the Politics Department of his alma mater, Princeton University, was a frequent lecturer before numerous bar groups and CLE programs, and was one of the innovators of the "Law on the Line" program established by the Middlesex County Bar Foundation. He practiced law in New York City immediately after graduating from Columbia Law School and commenced his own practice in New Brunswick shortly thereafter.


PURPOSE: The purpose of the Arthur H. Miller Lawyer Achievement Award is to accord recognition to attorneys practicing in Middlesex County whose work:

  • Fosters a greater public understanding of the inherent values of our American and New Jersey legal and judicial systems;
  • Informs and educates citizens as to roles in society of the law, the courts, the law enforcement agencies and the legal profession;
  • Encourages and promotes local, state and federal efforts to improve and modernize our legal system including our legislative and court system; and
  • Assists the legal profession and judiciary so that they can attain the goals set forth by the code of professional responsibility and the code of judicial conduct.

CRITERIA: The nominee will be selected based upon several criteria listed herein.  It is not required or intended that the nominee meet all of the criteria.

  • Achieves a result that has a far-reaching public impact.
  • Enhances and furthers the goals of the legal profession.
  • Fosters and improves the relationship between the legal profession and the general public.
  • Community service. 

ELIGIBILITY: You may nominate any attorney who is a member of MCBA. No entry fee is required. Simply submit your letter of nomination, via email or regular mail, accompanied by sufficient documentation of past, present or future activities to explain why your nominee should be selected. Remember that the Committee may not know your nominee, and be sure to include sufficient material that he or she will receive full consideration. Submissions should be emailed to: or mailed to: MCBA, 87 Bayard Street, New Brunswick, NJ 08901.


JUDGING: The MCBA Committee on the Lawyer Achievement Award screens all entries in the awards program for the purpose of selecting a winning entry on the basis of informational value, merit and thoroughness so as to select an individual who achieves the objectives and purposes of this award.


PROHIBITION: Entries will be disqualified automatically if they do not fully comply with the rules governing the form of submission or the time for its entry.


DEADLINE: All entries must be mailed or emailed to the Middlesex County Bar Association no later than the end of July.


AWARDS COMMITTEE: The awards program is under the direction of the MCBA Committee on the Arthur H. Miller Lawyer Achievement Award.


AWARDS PRESENTATION: The Lawyer Achievement Award will be made at the Association's September General Membership Dinner Meeting. 




2017 - Hon. Frank Ciuffani, PJSC (Ret.) 2016 - Hon. Bradley Ferencz, JSC (Ret.) 2015 - Hon. Glenn Berman, JSC (Ret.)
2013 - Dennis A. Estis 2003 - Christopher Placitella 1992 - Jeffrey C. Green
2012 - Bertram E. Busch 2002 - Edward Schoifet 1991 - William G. Brigiani
2011 - John A. Hoffman 2001 - Stuart Hoberman 1990 - Jacob Wysoker
2010 - Barry S. Goodman 2000 - Gail Chester 1989 - Marina Corodemus
2009 - Darren M. Gelber 1999 - Daniel Golden 1988 - Paul V. Mullin
2008 - Hon. Robert A. Longhi 1998 - Edward J. Byrne 1987 - Morris Brown
2007 - Peter J. Barnes, III 1997 - Hon. Robert N. Wilentz 1987 - Richard Levinson
2006 - Hon. C. Judson Hamlin, JSC (Ret.)
1996 - Arthur H. Miller 1986 - William H. Gazi
2005 - Manny Gerstein 1995 - David Pavlovsky 1985 - Samuel C. Inglese
2004 - Sanford Rader 1994 - Barry T. Albin 1985 - Martin S. Goldin

more Latest News
There are currently no news items posted.
more Calendar

Nov 14th Civil Practice Lunch CLE

Nov 15 LPM Cyber Security CLE Seminar

Nov 19 Family Law Breakfast CLE

Featured Members

Online Surveys

MCBA Partners

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal